Mopar Takes the Bragging Rights for 2016

Monday, October 10, 2016

The Ford vs. Mopar Series is in the books and it was all Ford in the judged car show with Ford taking the Best Engine, Best Interior, Track Top Pick and Best of Show. The Mopars wouldn't let it be a sweep as they took the Best Paint, Best Detail and Club Participation award. This gave a four - three edge for the Fords when they would hit the track to see who would take the overall title at Memphis International Raceway.

We were proud to partner with the editors from Muscle Mustangs & Fast Fords and Mopar Muscle to capture images of the beautiful cars and trucks on display at the car show. Please check out the TEN publications in the coming months for images from the Ford vs. Mopar Series at Memphis International Raceway.

The Best of Show was a beautiful 1950 Ford by owner Charles Keller. The car was immaculate in every aspect. Keller was overwhelmed with the win and was proud of the detail and accomplishment he has made with the car.

It was time to move to the strip and see if Ford would hold onto the lead or would Mopar find a way to make it a race with five classes to be contested.

Mustang vs Challenger/Charger

The win went to John Sain in a Dodge Challenger.

Tough Truck

The win would go to Michael Epperson of McKenzie, Tennessee in his 2004 Dodge Truck over Gerald Nevens in his Ford Truck. Nevens was too quick on the tree leaving the winner's circle all to Epperson.

Bracket 3

- Street: The win went to Bogdan Gilewski in a 2012 Dodge over Justin Swanson in his 2015 Ford Mustang. Swanson took it on the tree, but gave it back on the top end.

Bracket 2

- No Electronics: It was an all Mopar final with Russ Kawerz of Horn Lake, Mississippi in his 1969 Dodge over Eddie Darnell of Almo, Kentucky in his 1976 Dodge.

Bracket 1

- Electronics: The final round was Ford Vs Mopar - Gene Smalley in his 1986 Ford Thunderbird and Jim Griffith in his 1999 Dodge Avenger. Smalley was too quick on the tree, handing the automatic win over to Griffith in the Avenger.

The overall points total would go to the Dodge / Mopar make with a sweep on the strip taking the overall to eight wins for the Dodge/Mopar and four wins for the Ford.

The show was capped off with a show provided by the MidSouth Nostalgia Pro Stock Association, 4th Annual Black Arrow Cup and the Dixie Door Slammers.

Full car show results:


Mustang 64-65:

Winner: Charlie Boyostun - 1965 Mustang

Mustang 66-68

Oustanding: Richard & Teri Smith - 1967 Mustang

Winner: Ron Blum - 1966 Mustang

Mustang 69-73

Outstanding: Richard Scarbrough - 1969 Mustang

Winner: Rick Duncan - 1973 Mustang

Mustang 74-90

Winner: Greg Holley - 1989 Mustang

Mustang 90-93

Outstanding: Jeremy Wrzesinski - 1993 Mustang

Winner: Wally Britton - 1993 Mustang

Mustang 05-09

Winner: Sandi Jordan - 2009 Mustang

Mustang 2010-Present:

Outstanding: Jim Larry - 2014 Mustang

Winner: Butch Campbell - 2012 Mustang

Shelby Mustang 2006-2010

Winner: Dwayne Driskill - 2010 Shelby

Shelby Mustang 2011-Present

Outstanding: Galen Bolton - 204 Shelby

Winner: Sean Jordan - 2016 Shelby

Roush Mustang

Winner: Gerald Sepich - 2014 Roush

Shelby Cobra

Winner: Mel Bain - 1065 Cobra

Fairlane, Torino, Galaxy 55-66

Outstanding: Sammy Leopard 66 Fairlane

Winner: Jim Ward - 58 Fairlane

Fairlane, Torino, Galaxy

Outstanding: Rodney Roach - 1969 Galaxie

Winner: Mike Sherrod - 67 Fairlane


Winner: Richard Larry - 1956 T-Bird

Full Size Truck

Winner: Trey Turman - 2009 F-150

Race Car

Winner: Ronald Brown - 2006 Mustang

Pro Street

Winner: Billy Clay - 1993 Mustang


Winner: Charles Keller - 1950 Ford

Special Interest

Outstanding: Kory Keller - 1956 Sedan Delivery

Winner: Gary Taylor - 1925 T-Bucket


A-Body Stock

Winner: Joey Harvey - 1970 Dart

A-Body Modified

Winner: Rick Powell - 1070 Dart

E-Body Modified

Outstanding: Wayne Ellise - 1974 Cuda

Winner: Duane Kleinsmith - 1972 Cuda

Truck/Van Modified 93 & Older

Winner: Regina Hardee - 1970 Dodge Power Wagon

Truck Van Stock 94 and Newer

Outstanding: Kevin Dotson - 2015 Ram

Winner: Kevin Hart - 2008 Ram

Truck/Van Modified 94 and Newer

Winner: Don Johnson - 2008 Ram/Viper

Daily Driver - Stock

Winner: Joe Shimkis - 1973 Barracuda

Daily Driver - Modified

Outstanding: Charles Morris - 1980 Volara

Winner: Michael Talley - 1999 Intrepid

LX-LC 300 Magnum

Winner: Ronnie Caruthers - 2006 Magnum

Best Engine: Gregg Holley, Byhalia, MS 1989 Mustang

Best Interior: Charlie Boydstun, Lakeland, TN 1065 Mustang

Best Paint: Wayne Ellis, Ripley, TN 1974 Cuda

Best Detail: Joey Harvey, Southaven, MS 1970 Dart

Club Participation: Mopar Affiliates

Track Top Pick: Jim Ward, Munford, TN 1058 Ford

Best of Show: Charles Keller, Arlington, TN 1950 Ford



You can view photos of Ford vs. Mopar on Facebook by clicking here!

Read 2175 times


Moore Tech Test-N-Tune
Test N Tune
Thursday, September 19th
Porsche Club of America- Road Course
Road Course
Saturday, September 21st - Sunday, September 22nd
Moore Tech Test-N-Tune
Test N Tune
Thursday, September 26th
Midnight Madness with Drifting
Drag Strip
Friday, September 27th - Friday, September 27th
NASA Pro Racing
Road Course
Saturday, September 28th - Sunday, September 29th
Track Mania
Drag Strip
Saturday, September 28th - Saturday, September 28th
IHRA Summit Team Finals
Drag Strip
Thursday, October 3rd - Sunday, October 6th
Moore Tech Test-N-Tune
Test N Tune
Thursday, October 10th
Street Warriorz #GrindCityShowdown Season Finale
Drag Strip
Friday, October 11th
T-Daddy’s Speed Shop & Bumpus Harley Davidson Memphis Customer Appreciation Night
Drag Strip
Saturday, October 12th



5500 Victory Lane
whitebar 901-WOW-RACE
Millington, TN 38053 RACEMIR.com
 ©2019 Memphis International Raceway. All Rights Reserved