Summit Bracket Racing Series presented by COMP Cams Race No. 2 Results

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Race No. 2 for the 2015 Summit Bracket Racing Series presented by COMP Cams season took place Sunday at Memphis International Raceway (MIR). A lot of familiar faces landed themselves in the winner's circle again and the racing excitement was nonstop.

Billy Foster Sr. returned to the winner's circle in the R.T. Turbines D.O.T. Street class to defend his win from race one. Justin Poindexter did the same in the R.T. Turbines Jr. Dragsters class. Leigh Hubbard and Caffey Broadus garnered their first win towards the 2015 chase for the championship.

"As the day starter with cool temps, it didn't stop those in attendance from seeking a win to get their season started on the right track," stated Paul Cartwright, Director of Operations. "Racers are really stepping it up and we saw some repeat winners. Billy Foster Sr. and Justin Poindexter are two for two so far in the chase to the 2015 championship." 

Race Results:  

R.T. Turbines Jr. Dragsters

Brothers Justin and Tyler Poindexter had a repeat performance from the first 2015 race at MIR. They made it to the final round with Justin posting a .006 reaction time and a 7.985 second run on his 7.94 dial-in time. Older brother Tyler would unfortunately foul at the tree, giving Justin the win in the R.T. Turbines Jr. Dragsters class.

 R.T. Turbines Jr. Dragsters Second Chance Shootout

Three young ladies battled it out in the R.T. Turbines Second Chance Shootout - Layna Tracey, Brianna Moore and Tara Taylor. Tara and Layna advanced to the finals with Tara claiming the win over Layna at the tree. Tara had a .051 reaction time, 7.923 second run off of a 7.91 dial-in time at 82.70 MPH. Layna turning the red on.


B&B Towing Footbrake

After six rounds of nonstop action, it came down to Caffey Broadus and Kenny Bomar in the finals. The Olive Branch, Miss. driver and Bartlett, Tenn. driver lined-up at the tree in one of the closest finishes of the day. Kenny had a .046 reaction time with a 6.189 second run off of his 6.14 dial-in time. Caffey posted a .069 reaction time with a 6.037 second run off of his 6.02 dial-in time giving him the coveted win in the B&B Towing Footbrake class.


Rick's Powder Coating Super Pro

The Rick's Powder Coating Super Pro class came down to Leigh Hubbard, Rusty Ashmore and JR Barclay in the semi-finals. Leigh and JR would advance to the final round with Leigh eventually claiming the victory. The Millington, Tenn. native had a .016 reaction time, 5.07 second run off of her 5.00 dial-in time at 137.23 MPH. JR Barclay fouled at the line giving Leigh her first victory for the 2015 season.



R.T. Turbines D.O.T. Street

Billy Foster Sr. found himself in a familiar situation Sunday afternoon as he was defending his last R.T. Turbines D.O.T. Street victory. Billy went up against Tanner Isom in the final round. It was a close battle as Tanner posted a .112 reaction time, 14.903 second run with a 14.81 dialed-in time at 94.20 MPH. Billy's times bested the stellar run by Tanner as he had a .106 reaction time, 14.046 second run with his 14.02 dial-in time at 87.94 MPH. This gives Billy back-to-back wins in the R.T. Turbines D.O.T Street class.


Congratulations to all of our winners, runner-ups and money earners at the Summit Bracket Racing Series presented by COMP Cams. The point standings following the second race are as follows: 

Rick's Powder Coating Super Pro 

  1. Rusty      Ashmore #3X24    142
  2. Leigh      Hubbard #4X3H    122
  3. Shane      Stout #4X1K         121
  4. JR      Barclay      #3X11       101
  5. TJ      Tracey      #4X46         100    

B&B Towing Footbrake

  1. John      Castellaw III #JX39  152
  2. Caffey      Broadus #4X22      132
  3. Kenny      Bomar #7777          131
  4. Billy      Foster Sr. #1982        121
  5. Patrick      Richardson #SR71 110

R.T. Turbines Jr. Dragsters

  1. Justin      Poindexter #253X   134
  2. Tyler      Poindexter #252X    92
  3. Tara      Taylor      #197X        80
  4. Devin      Johnson #907X       80
  5. Drew      Tracey #101X          60

R.T. Turbines D.O.T.

  1. Billy      Foster, Sr. #1982       144
  2. Cliff      Hubbard #0.07            111
  3. David      Elam      #EX72         80
  4. Tanner      Isom      #281X        71
  5. Jimmy      Ray      #7572           60

The next installment of the Summit Bracket Racing Series presented by COMP Cams is Sunday, November 23. Gates open at 9 a.m., church service at 9:30 a.m. and time trials begin at 11 a.m.

Read 2411 times


Test N Tune
Test N Tune
Thursday, July 9th - Thursday, July 9th
Xtreme Xperience
Road Course
Friday, July 10th
Private Test Rental Available
Special Event
Wednesday, July 15th
Test N Tune
Test N Tune
Thursday, July 16th - Thursday, July 16th
MIR Track Day presented by NASA Mid South Region
Road Course
Friday, July 17th
Track Day for PCA Members
Road Course
Saturday, July 18th
Bracket Series presented by COMP CAMS - Points Race #1 - ALL CLASSES!
Bracket Racing
Sunday, July 19th - Sunday, July 19th
Private Test Rental Available
Special Event
Wednesday, July 22nd
Test N Tune
Test N Tune
Thursday, July 23rd - Thursday, July 23rd
Private Test Rental Available
Special Event
Friday, July 24th



5500 Victory Lane
whitebar 901-WOW-RACE
Millington, TN 38053 RACEMIR.com
 ©2019 Memphis International Raceway. All Rights Reserved